Three Rutgers Professors Named Fellows of Top National Science Association

Three Rutgers Professors Named Fellows of Top National Science Association

BRUNSWICK, N.J. – Three Rutgers professors are among 539 scholars that the
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elevated to the
rank of fellow. The pre-eminent national scientific organization selects
fellows based on their efforts in advancing science or fostering applications
considered scientifically or socially distinguished.

Joining 49
previous Rutgers fellows, the new inductees will receive an official
certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin Saturday, Feb. 18, at the AAAS
Fellows Forum during the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British
Columbia, Canada.

The new
Rutgers AAAS fellows are:


Anthony Broccoli

Anthony Broccoli, Department of Environmental Sciences,
School of Environmental and Biological Sciences.

research focuses on climate modeling, with emphasis on the simulation of past
climates and climate change, and the use of such simulations to evaluate the
reliability of climate models. His work includes simulation of the climate of
the past century, climate variations during the last glacial cycle,
extratropical forcing of tropical climate change and diagnosis of climate model
feedbacks and sensitivity. Broccoli is a fellow of the American Meterological
Society and received Rutgers’ Cook College Research Excellence Award in 2006.

association cited Broccoli “for distinguished contributions to the
understanding and modeling of past climate change, and to communicating climate

Bingru Huang, Department of Plant Biology and
Pathology, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences.

Huang’s research focuses on understanding turfgrass tolerance to environmental
stresses, especially heat and drought. She holds the Ralph Geiger Endowed Chair
in Turfgrass Science and is a member of the university’s Center for Turfgrass
Science, a nationally recognized research, teaching and service organization.
She has established partnerships with institutions in several countries,
including Australia, Israel, Norway and her native China, enhancing turfgrass breeding
and management for those countries’ environments and expanding educational
opportunities for their students.

association cited Huang “for distinguished contributions to crop science,
particularly for invaluable discoveries in turfgrass physiology and novel methods
for improving turfgrass germplasms and management practices.”


Patrick Sinko

Patrick Sinko, Department of Pharmaceutics, Ernest
Mario School of Pharmacy, and Associate Vice President for Research, Rutgers

Sinko’s research focuses on the mechanisms and applications
of biopharmaceutics and polymers to drug delivery and targeting. He also
oversees research on the design, fabrication and evaluation of molecular-scale
drug and diagnostic delivery technologies applied broadly to asthma, AIDS,
cancer, and chemical counterterrorism. He holds the Parke-Davis Endowed Chair
in Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery and is a fellow in the American Association
of Pharmaceutical Scientists. He received the Rutgers University Board of
Trustees Award for Excellence in Research in 2010.

association cited Sinko “for distinguished contributions to biopharmaceutics
and innovative approaches for drug delivery and targeting as well as academic
leadership at Rutgers University.”

About the AAAS

in 1848, the AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and works
to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs and
publications. The tradition of selecting AAAS fellows began in 1874.
AAAS includes 262
affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.
The association conducts many programs in the areas of science policy, science
education and international scientific cooperation. Its prestigious peer
reviewed journal Science has the
largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the
world, with an estimated readership of 1 million.


Media Contact: Carl Blesch
732-932-7084, ext. 616