Rutgers Board of Trustees Elects 2007-08 Officers

Rutgers Board of Trustees Elects 2007-08 Officers

June 21, 2007

EDITORS NOTE: ATTENTION ASSIGNMENT, EDUCATION EDITORS, a photo of Gerald C. Harvey is available at



New Brunswick, N.J. Gerald C. Harvey, co-vice chair of Rutgers Board of Trustees, has been elected to a one-year term as chair, succeeding Rochelle Gizinski. He had been co-vice chair with Anthony J. DePetris of Camden.

Harvey, a Summit resident, is executive vice president, general counsel and secretary of Breeze-Eastern Corp., a Union-based designer and manufacturer of rescue hoists and cargo hooks for military and civilian aircraft. He is a member of the panel of commercial arbitrators of the American Arbitration Association and a past member of the board of trustees of St. Philips Academy in Newark. The independent K-8 school has a special mission for urban children.

A 1972 Rutgers College graduate, Harvey earned a law degree from Columbia University in 1975. He has been a member of the Rutgers Board of Trustees since 1998 and is a past president of the Rutgers University Alumni Federation. A recipient of the Federations Meritorious Service Award, Harvey is also a member of the Rutgers Alumni Associations Loyal Sons and Daughters.

He and his wife, Keiko, a past member of the Rutgers Board of Trustees and Board of Governors, have funded the Keiko and Gerald Harvey Scholarship for Women in Engineering at the Rutgers School of Engineering.

DePetris will serve his second one-year term as co-vice chair with Mark P. Hershhorn, a current trustee. Hershhorn lives in Upper Providence, Pa.

DePetris, a 21-year public management professional, is director of administrative and personnel services for the LEAP Academy University Charter School District Inc. in Camden. He served as vice chair of the board of trustees for Pope Paul VI High School in Haddonfield from 2003 to 2006. He has taught courses in public administration at Rutgers-Camden and the School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Delaware, from which he earned a Masters of Public Administration degree.

A 1984 graduate of Rutgers-Camden, DePetris has been a member of the Rutgers Board of Trustees since 1998, and a member and past chair of the Rutgers-Camden College of Arts and Sciences Deans Leadership Council. He has been a member of the Rutgers-Camden Alumni Association Board of Trustees since 1984 and was its president from 1991 to1993.

In 2001, DePetris received the Rutgers University Alumni Federations Meritorious Service Award.

Hershhorn is a 1971 graduate of Rutgers College and earned an MBA from the University of Pennsylvanias Wharton School in 1972. He is chair and chief executive officer of CKS and Associates, Upper Providence, Pa.

Hershhorn is a member of the Quill and Ledger Society, the Chair and Gavel Society, and is the immediate past chair of the Rutgers Foundation Board of Overseers. He was elected to the Board of Trustees in 2002.

The new officers terms will begin July 1.

Established in 1766, Rutgers is one of the nations premier research universities, serving more than 50,000 students on campuses in Camden, Newark and New Brunswick. The Board of Trustees was the governing body of the university from its founding as Queens College in 1766 until the university was reorganized in 1956, when a state law created the Board of Governors as the governing body.

The Board of Trustees serves in an advisory capacity with certain fiduciary responsibilities over assets of the university in existence before 1956. In addition, the Board of Trustees elects five of the 11 members of the Board of Governors. There are 59 voting members, whose selection is mandated by state law: 28 charter members (of whom at least three are women and three are students with full voting rights); 20 alumni members nominated by the nominating committee of the board; and five public members appointed by the governor of the state with confirmation by the state Senate. The six public members of the Board of Governors also serve as trustees.

Contact: E.J. Miranda

732-932-7084, Ext. 613


# # #

BOT-Harvey Elected Chair2.rel.ed