Rutgers Facts at-a-Glance

Rutgers Facts at-a-Glance

Total Enrollment: 66,013
Undergraduate: 46,809 (70.9 percent)
Graduate and Professional: 19,204 (29.1 percent)
Full time: 53,291 (80.7 percent)
Part time: 12,722 (19.3 percent)
Women: 31,145 (47.2 percent)
Men: 34,868 (52.8 percent)
Minority: 30,465 (46.2 percent)
Foreign: 5,633 (8.5 percent)
Total Faculty (excluding teaching assistants and graduate assistants):
Full time and part time, including Post Docs and Fellows: 8,137
Full time and part time, excluding Post Docs and Fellows: 7,718
Student/Faculty Ratio: 14:1
Academic degrees awarded since 1766 (through Academic Year 2013-14)
Legacy RU only: 527,722; RU and UMDNJ: 529,575
Living Alumni, U.S.: 456,942 (legacy RU)

RUTGERS’ HISTORY                                      

Old Queens Arch
Rutgers was chartered in 1766 as Queen’s College, making it the eighth oldest institution of higher education in the nation. It became Rutgers College in 1825, honoring Col. Henry Rutgers, a former trustee and Revolutionary War veteran. In 1924, Rutgers College assumed university status. By 1956, legislative acts designated all of Rutgers’ divisions as The State University of New Jersey, making it the youngest state university in the country at that time. Rutgers is the only university in the nation to have been a Colonial college, a land-grant college and a state university. In 1989, Rutgers became a member of the prestigious Association of American Universities.

On Aug. 22, 2012, the New Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act was signed into law, and on Nov. 19, the Rutgers Boards of Governors and Trustees voted unanimously to approve the changes outlined in the legislation. The act transferred to Rutgers nearly all of the schools, institutes and centers of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ) and integration became effective on July 1, 2013.  

On Nov. 20, 2012, The Big Ten Conference Council of Presidents/Chancellors voted unanimously to accept Rutgers as the 14th member of the Big Ten. One month later, Rutgers accepted an invitation to join the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), the nation’s premier higher education consortium of top-tier research institutions, comprising Big Ten members plus the University of Chicago. Membership in the CIC became effective July 1, 2013.

Scarlet Knights sports teams in New Brunswick began competing in The Big Ten in all intercollegiate athletic programs starting July 2014.

EDITOR’S NOTE: For more information about commencement, contact Steve Manas, Office of University News and Media Relations, at 848-932-0559 or