Not Your Average Book Discussion Group

Not Your Average Book Discussion Group

Read The Books, Discuss Them With Their Authors

(Newark, N.J., Sept. 22, 2009)  -- Want to talk to a favorite writer about her books, or hear her read her works? You’ll have the opportunity to do that throughout the 2009-2010 academic year, thanks to the “Writers at Newark Reading Series” sponsored by the Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Program at Rutgers University, Newark. This series of talks and readings by famous writers and poets is free of charge and open to the public.  All talks are from 5:30 p.m. – 7 p.m., in the main gallery of the Paul Robeson Galleries, first floor, Paul Robeson Campus Center, 350 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.  A list of talks follows.

For more information on the authors and their works, please go to:  For more information on the Writers at Newark Series, or the Rutgers-Newark Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program: 973/353-1107 or

The Writers at Newark Reading Series is made possible by funds from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts/Department of State, a Partner Agency of the National Endowment of the Arts and administered by the Essex County Division of Cultural and Historic Affairs; the Rutgers-Newark English Department; the Paul Robeson Galleries; the Rutgers Center for Ethnicity, Culture, and the Modern Experience; and the Rutgers-Newark Cultural Programming Committee.


The Paul Robeson Campus Center is wheelchair-accessible, as is the Rutgers University campus in Newark. Rutgers‑Newark can be reached by New Jersey Transit buses and trains, the PATH train and Amtrak from New York City, and by the Newark Light Rail. Metered parking is available on University Avenue and at Rutgers‑Newark's public parking garage, at 200 University Ave.  Printable campus maps and driving directions are available online at:




Oct. 20

Salvatore Scibona   (fiction)

Victor LaValle  (fiction)


Nov. 17

Honor Moore (poetry)

Beth Gutcheon (fiction


Dec. 1

James Hoch  (poetry)

Patricia Smith (poetry)


Jan. 26

Roger Sedarat   (poetry)

Jayne Anne Phillips  (fiction)





Feb. 23

Chang-Rae Lee (fiction)

Jeff Eugenides (fiction)


March 25

Mark Doty (poetry)

Paul Lisicky (fiction)



April 27

Nalini Jones (fiction)

Caryl Phillips (fiction)


Media Contact: MFA in Creative Writing Program